The building you are now facing is called Senior Hall. Unlike most of Eastern's facilities, Senior Hall is not named after any particular person. In its original design Senior Hall was very similar to Monroe Hall. Rapid growth of both the college and the surrounding community almost outpaced planners. Only a few years after completing the college's first dormitory, the Normal School soon found itself in need of another women's dorm. Construction of Senior Hall began in 1919 to meet this need, and the building was mostly completed the following year, although financial problems held up work on the third floor until 1925.
Senior Hall continued to be used as a dorm until the 1970s when it was repurposed to house Vietnam Veterans. After only a few years, Senior Hall was declared unfit for student housing due to old wiring, outdated fire safety measures, and an inability to keep up with modern building codes. In 2006 it received an extensive renovation largely focused on updating the interior.
There were male students at the Normal School from the beginning, but women were in the majority. Teaching was a unique field in the late nineteenth and early twentieth century in that it was considered acceptable for women when other opportunities were limited. Although hardly uncommon today, this stood in stark contrast to many other professions at the time.
One of the enduring urban legends of EWU is the haunting of Senior Hall. People reported hearing creaks and groans in the hallways and rooms, especially at night. However, there is no evidence of deaths during construction or suicides by residents in the building's history, or indeed any kind of suspicious activity. Modern belief is that the sounds were simply those of an old building cooling down, which triggered overactive imaginations, particularly among overworked graduate students.